top of page

Balade Your Way

and indeed, I had it my way (:





Not too long ago I stumbled upon this super yummy, and aesthetically-pleasing Middle Eastern spot on E 41st Street. I first came across this place when I was looking for a place to chill and wait in between classes. It actually happened to be down the street from my campus. I would stop by about two or three times before I finally decided to buy myself something to eat. So, I got a rice bowl ... and when I say the staff was super sweet, I mean they were so down to earth. They made it a point to ensure that my experience there was nothing short of warm and comfortable. Even prior to when I would just come in here to do my homework/relax, the staff was kind.


So, what is "Balade Your Way" about? Well, balade actually means "fresh" in Lebanese which coincides with their Your Way philosophy. The Your Way philosophy is to put you, the customer, first. They are aware of the importance of the food we eat and the way food should taste. They redefine what it means to have healthy, fresh, and delicious food. You can tell just by the fresh ingredients that they use.


Their ingredients are freshly handpicked from local suppliers to bring us the authentic flavors of the Middle East. To speak on how fresh their food is, their beef and lamb are grass fed and all of their ingredients are 100% organic. Read more about Balade Your Way here.




First and foremost, let's talk about the atmosphere. When you walk by, your peripheral has already been caught by it's minimalistic interior. Green plants and flower pots adorn the walls of the place. It's almost like a breath of fresh air and it automatically draws you in.










CLICK THE PHOTO BELOW TO VIEW THEIR FULL MENU:





In their menu they offer plenty of options. I personally chose the "Your Way" meal so I can add whatever I wanted to my order. It's like Chipotle, where you choose a burrito or bowl and then your rice, meats, toppings, sauces and whips. Because I tend to be quite messy with burritos, I chose the bowl. I've never had Middle Eastern food before so I asked the server what each thing was before adding it.


IN MY BOWL:

falafel - deep fried spiced chickpea and fava bean ball

lamb kebab

brown rice

cucumbers

tomatoes

feta cheese

hummus

garlic whip

sumac - onion and parsley blend

baba ghanouj - smoked eggplant, tahini, garlic, and lemon

dressings: tahini, spicy red pepper

wheat pita bread (offered at checkout)


Prior to this, I have never had eggplant; and although the baba ghanouj was seasoned well, I now know that I do not like eggplant at all.




At the end of my meal and after giving a very well-deserved Yelp review, I was then offered some desert on the house 🥰. I had the option between mouhalabie and vanilla chocolate custard. Mouhalabie is basically a milk puddingmade with milk, starch, and sugartopped with pistachios and rose syrup. Meanwhile, the vanilla chocolate custard is just vanilla and chocolate layered pudding. I chose the mouhalabie just to try something new and it was absolutely delicious. The rose syrup is like a liquid sugar that evens out the crunchy tastes of the pistachios with the milk pudding.



Overall, my experience at Balade Your Way was nothing less of enjoyable. I appreciated the atmosphere and the people working in it.


I recommend this place for sure and definitely plan on going back to BYW anytime my taste buds crave some Middle Eastern flavors.

Comments


bottom of page